Go Greece NowHellenic World Heritage Monuments
In 1981, Greece signed the UNESCO treaty for the protection of the monuments and sites of the world’s cultural heritage. The aim of this treaty is to protect these monuments from erosion and destruction, and to preserve them for future generations.

1986 Temple of Apollo Epicurius at Bassae

1987 Archaeological Site of Delphi

1987 Acropolis, Athens

1988 Mount Athos

1988 Meteora

1988 Paleochristian and Byzantine Monuments of Thessalonika

1988 Archaeological Site of Epidaurus

1988 Medieval City of Rhodes

1989 Archaeological Site of Olympia

1989 Mystras

1990 Delos

1990 Monasteries of Daphni, Osios Loukas, Nea Moni of Chios

1992 The Pythagoreion and the Heraion of Samos

1996 Archaeological Site of Vergina

1999 Archaeological Sites of Mycenae and Tiryns

1999 Historic Centre (Chora) with the Monastery of Saint John “the Theologian” and the Cave of the Apocalypse on the Island of Patmos

2007 Ancient City of Corfu

You may also be interested in the following articles:

• Archaeological sites in Greece
• Greek culture
• Museums in Greece