Central Macedonia

Central Macedonia is one of the thirteen peripheries of Greece, consisting of the central part of the region of Macedonia. With a population of over 1.8 million, it is the second most populous in Greece after the Attica Periphery.
The major cities and towns in Central Macedonia are Edessa, Thessaloniki, Katerini, Kilkis, Polygyros, Serres and Veria. The periphery is based at its capital city of Thessaloniki and is divided into seven peripheral units, Halkidiki, Imathia, Kilkis, Pella, Pieria, Serres and Thessaloniki. These are further subdivided into 38 municipalities. Although geographically part of Central Macedonia, Mount Athos is not administratively part of the periphery, but an autonomous self-governing state under the sovereignty of Greece.

Recommended destinations in Central Macedonia: