East Macedonia / Thrace

East Macedonia and Thrace is one of the thirteen peripheries of Greece. It consists of the northeastern parts of the country, comprising the eastern part of the region of Macedonia along with the region of Thrace, and the islands of Thasos and Samothrace.
The East Macedonia and Thrace Periphery was established in the 1987 administrative reform. With the 2010 Kallikratis plan, its powers and authority were redefined and extended. Along with the Central Macedonia periphery, it is supervised by the Decentralized Administration of Macedonia and Thrace based at Thessaloniki. The periphery is based at Komotini. It is divided into the Macedonian peripheral units of Drama, Kavala and Thasos and the Thracian peripheral units of Xanthi, Rhodope and Evros. Before the Kallikratis reform, the peripheral units (except Thasos, which was part of Kavala) were administered as separate prefectures. Since 1994, they were grouped into the Drama-Kavala-Xanthi and Rhodope-Evros super-prefectures.
The major cities of East Macedonia / Thrace are Alexandroupoli, Drama, Kavala, Komotini and Xanthi.